Thursday, January 13, 2011

Maitri (Kindness)

 What ever we gain in our life can never bring lasting happiness and peace. If we wish to give something to someone, it is necessary to have that something which we wish to give, with us, then only it is possible for us to give. And for this spirit we must have a kind heart. Peace must first be established in the person's own heart before she/he can bring peace to other and to the world. One must practice himself or herself the principle of non-violence and she/he must even be ready to overcome selfishness which often arises in the conventional self. We think that if we can fight with the physical body that this constitutes courage or bravery, but it is no effective weapon to fight against the evil which is inside us. One should learn to practice selfless love to maintain real peace and gain one's own salvation. Spiritual progress based on loving kindness is neither emotional or selfish loving kindness but it is that which radiates through the purified mind after eradicating hatred, jealousy, cruelty, and grudges. Loving- kindness is the most effective method to maintain purity of mind and to purify the mentally polluted atmosphere.

The cause of suffering

  People involve them selves in religious work to get rid of sufferings. In this world, we have to face different problems or sufferings. Suffering simply means dukkha. We all are in search of a path that leads to the cessation of suffering. Everything arises dependent on conditions. Everything in this world has its cause. Lord Buddha after his enlightenment, discovered that the cause of suffering is craving. It covers all forms of desire. Where there is attachment there is suffering. If one eliminates attachment, one is sure to get rid of dukkha, i.e. suffering. Desire is endless so we gather more and more. When we have more we become filled with tension, a distress and protect our possessions selfishly. If mental and physical processes are rightly understood, that right understanding will do away with ignorance. When we are free of ignorance then there will not be any false view of a soul, an abiding self, a personally or a view of the beings as fixed. When these false views have been destroyed there will not arise any more suffering.

Annica ( Impermanence)

Annica or Impermanence is one of the important doctrine in Buddhism. This term expresses that all the conditioned existence is not permanent or is in a constant state of flux. Everything that appears has to disappear and will not be everlasting. If we take an example of a plant, it starts from the seed it grows to the plant and then develops flowers or foods in it, then it gets old and starts to dry and dies. Everything in this planet or in the whole universe or the place we call world is just for some temporary time. Some last for short and some last for long but everything has to disappear at the end and nothing is permanent. Not only the things or materials, every single thing that exist will  collapse one day. Like there is always uneven string of good times and bad times in life. There is not a single thing that we can say is permanent. Even the giant mountains and oceans change. Some lands form and some lands collapse. These cycles will continue because we are living in an impermanent world.

Parami (perfection)

   In Buddhism, Parami means perfection or completness of certain virtues which cultivate a way of purification while reaching a goal of enlightenment. A person who wants to become Buddha should have complete these ten perfection known as dasa parami. These are as follows:
1.Dana parami: generosity, giving of oneself.
2.Sila parami: virtue, morality.
3.Nekkhamma parami: renunciation.
4.Panha parami: wisdom, insight.
5.Viriya parami: effort, diligence.
6.Khanti parami: patience, tolerance.
7.Sacca parami: truthfulness, honesty.
8.Adhitthana parami: determination, resolution.
9.Metta parami: loving, kindness.
10.Upekkha parami: eauanimity, serenity.
   These ten pefections make a man purify his mind and helps to find the end of suffering. It makes mind free from clinging and cravings. These are not easy things to practice for anyone. So the main thing is to control mind to do these things. Every Buddha were completely perfect with these paramis and they guided others to walk in the same way to find the enlightenment.

Triple Gem

The Triple Gem in Buddhism means Buddha, Dharma (the teaching of budddha) and Sangha (the community). These three are called triple gem because these are really precious and treasurable as the expensive pearl or gems. Buddha the awakened one who showed the right path to reach the state of being released from sorrow. Dharma is the teachings taught by Lord Buddha which is the path to the  end of suffering. Sangha is the community which preserves dharma and flows to others and to the next generation. And they themselves practice meditation and the Noble eightfold path. Taking refuge in the triple gem has been the commitment to being on the Buddhist path. If we observe in any Buddhist temple or shrine people bow in front of Buddha's statue three time in the name of these three gems. Buddhism will exist till these triple gems will be respected by Buddhist followers from all over the world.


Buddha was the founder of Buddhism. BUDDHA in pali language ( the language used at the Buddha's time) means the awakened one or it refers to the person who is released from the cycle of suffering life. Buddha was named as Shiddhartha when he was born in about 500BC. He was the prince of Shakyamuni royal family in Kapilbastu (a place presently located in Nepal). His father wanted him to become the emperor so he provided him all the facilities and never let him feel any kind of sorrow. He married to a beautiful princess Yasodhara and after few years she gave birth to his son Rahul. But even after having fulfilled all the things in his palace and living in a heavenly place Shiddartha found out that the existence of suffering. He wanted to make human being relief from suffering so he left his palace and his beloved wife and son in search of peace and the end of suffering. In this way he traveled to many places and he learned with some teachers to get the solution of this suffering life circle but he didn't find any satisfying answer. So he himself meditated for six years without eating and drinking but in this way he felt down from the sickness. Then he considered to take the right way to find the solution which was the middle way which could lead to the right place. Like this he became Buddha (the awakened one).

The noble eightfold path

The Noble eightfold path describes the way to end the suffering. It is the practical way to release one from attachments which leads to sorrow. It is also known as the middle way or the right path. Because it is practiced to straighten one's view of living in the right way as a human being. 
The Noble eightfold path are as follows:
1.Right View
  It means to see and understand the things as they really are or to understand the noble four truth.
2.Right Intention
  It means the right attitude or the mental power to control our actions. 
3.Right Speech
  It means to control our speech which should be benificial for others and should not hurt anyone.
4.Right Action
  It means to do the right actions or to control our actions from harming others. 
5.Right Livelihood
  It means one should earn in the righteous way or should not involve in illegal activity.
6.Right Effort
  It means one should use his effort on welfare of human beings or should not be using his effort to harm anyone.
7.Right Mindfulness
  It means to control the mind in the way that it is always clearly conscious.
8.Right Concentration
  It means to concentrate on meditation to obtain the peace of mind.